The City of DeFuniak Springs is governed by a Mayor and five Council Members. The Mayor is elected for a four-year term, and five Council Members are staggered, four-year terms.  The Council is elected by the citizens to establish policy for the health, safety, and general welfare of the community. It establishes policies by ordinance or resolution with the affirmative vote of a majority of the members. The Council makes final judgment on all policy decisions. The rules and regulations set forth by the City Council are administered through the direction of the City Manager.

For all public records request, please contact City Clerk Maryanne Schrader by calling (850) 892-8500 or email cityclerk@defuniaksprings.net. .