News Flash Home
The original item was published from 12/12/2013 10:41:00 AM to 12/12/2013 10:44:30 AM.

News Flash

City Marshal/Police

Posted on: December 12, 2013



During the Christmas and Holiday Season many people will find themselves transporting family members and friends of all ages. Here is information on the car seat requirements for Florida and the car seat safety recommendations for children from birth to 12 years old.

Child Restraint Requirements:

All children under the age of 18 must be buckled up while riding in any car,
pickup truck, or van on Florida's roads, no matter where they are sitting in
the vehicle.

Children through the age of 3 must be secured in a federally approved
child-restraint seat.

Children ages 4 through 5 must be secured by either a federally approved
child-restraint seat or a safety belt.

Drivers are responsible for buckling up the child.

Leaving children unattended in a motor vehicle:

According to Florida State Statute (FSS) 316.6135 Leaving children unattended or unsupervised in motor vehicle; penalty; authority of law enforcement officer.

No parent, legal guardian, or other person responsible for a child younger than 6 years of age shall leave such child unattended or unsupervised in a motor vehicle for a period in excess of 15 minutes; however, no such person shall leave a child unattended for any period of time if the motor vehicle is running or the health of the child is in danger.

Any person who violates the provisions of subsection (1) is guilty of a noncriminal traffic infraction, punishable by a fine of:

o Not more than $100; or

o Not less than $50 and not more than $500 if the motor vehicle was running
or the health of the child was in danger at the time of the violation.

1. Any law enforcement officer who observes a child left unattended or
unsupervised in a motor vehicle in violation of subsection (1) may use
whatever means are reasonably necessary to protect the minor child
and to remove him from the vehicle.

2. If the child is removed from the immediate area notification should be
placed on the vehicle.

3. The child shall be remanded to the custody of the Department of
Children and Family Services pursuant to chapter 39, unless the
law enforcement officer is able to locate the parents or legal
guardian or other person responsible for the child.


“DeFuniak Springs Police will be out in full force watching for these types of violations in attempt to keep you and your loved ones safe. DeFuniak Springs Police wishes everyone a safe and Happy Holiday Season”, said Lieutenant Tilman Mears.

Lieutenant Tilman Mears
Criminal Investigations Division Commander

Facebook Twitter Email